Front Strut Top Bush Nightmare

Italianstallionxx

Question

Hello all

Just an insight into my saga.

One of my front top bushes collapsed, so I thought I would replace my self, being a mechanic I thought no problem.

Oh my f#@*ing god......how wrong I was.

The problem....... compressing the spring.

I have a professional tool that couldn't do the job.

I went to several other garages to see if their tool could do the job, and they couldn't, and some said they wouldn't try as the car had developed a reputation of dangerous/stay clear of concerning these springs.

Finally I found a garage that worked on vans and mini buses who was willing to give it a go........ 40mins later ..... he said omg ...... he had never come across a spring as bad to do as mine.

Seriously !!!!! I can't believe it.

Car still not finished as ive had enough.

There is no value in my comments today but equally if I found a comment like mine.... I would of purchased a complete assembly, of which I've seen for sale and spared myself the heart ache.

I did think at the time a false economy to buy complete assembled strut but I know better now.

16 answers to this question

I actually did this on my Voyager about 3 years ago, it is a twat of a job.

The bowed shape of the coil is the reason you can't use a standard coil compressor.

I eventually succeeded using 3 good quality Tie Down Straps to put the coil under enough tension.

Caution and patience is the key, a little at a time, you won't do this in one go, you have to adjust the straps one at a time, bit by bit.

You can't use the top or bottom of the coil, you have to do this by VERY SLOWLY pulling the middle coils together.

ALWAYS keep two straps taut as you readjust the third, eventually you'll get the damn coil under enough tension. 

It will work, just be VERY CAREFUL.

Chris

Edited by Sentech