Newbie Here

ForzaLancia

Question

Hi, not a Delta owner yet but working on it. Better introduce myself first, I have been a Lancia owner four times (Delta, Dedra, Thema x2)  before being forced to mover to Alfa, and much as I love my Alfa GT it is time to say good bye, but in no great rush it all still works fine. So the hunt begins, missed out on two at auction, one went for £1800 in BCA Walsall six months ago and blue double sunroof 1.6SR at Birmingham for £2400, so I have an idea of what the trade think of them and have no plans to buy from a dealer at £5k, especially as the Alfa will be worth little. Not adverse to DIY as the Alfas have, prepared me well. Just a little unsure of the driving experience after being used to the Alfas being engaging, but then again I should be slowing down a bit and wafting rather than hurtling. So like all of us, a Momo S or a 2.0 LTD for around a grand in grey should do me nicely, lol

24 answers to this question

Welcome fella!

Most of us have/had Alfas here, so not too far away from the fold in our little Italian section of the Chrysler forum.

When you say you missed out on two at auction, do you mean you were outbid or didn't bid? Just curious as the SR with twin sunroofs is quite rare, and unless it had mega miles, at £2400 is a bargain, even with fees on top. Don't dismiss the 1.6 as it's still a great engine, and tuned produces similar output to the 2l, but with cheaper insurance and road tax.

I did bid on both, but price went a bit higher than planned once buying fees were added. The Walsall car had a couple of declared faults so did not want to go too high. The blue twin sunroof was in very good nick and was bound to go for more than I was prepared to pay. On a forecourt in Tamworth for £5k within a week, had to be reduced before it sold though.