Battery Charger

robbie2red

Question

Hi all, I've got a 3.3L petrol GV 2006. I've seen different topics on here with people mentioning about a battery top up may be a good idea.

Any recommendations for a battery charger for my GV please? Or what do people use?

I've heard also of the button mod, but I'm no mechanic and it's difficult for me to do any work myself, so think it may just be easier/cheaper to use the battery charger once a week. Thoughts please guys?

Thanks in advance!

Rob

11 answers to this question

Hi Robbie, the battery problem is far worse on the diesels due to the much higher starting cranking effort required than our lightweight petrol engines.

But that doesn't mean we can't be victims of some of the circuits starting to cause draining if it's not driven for a few days, one of mine had it intermittently!! Bizarre.

Hi,

Just to put a 'downer' on the solar chargers, if you do a few calculations using Ohms law.

At 12v and 1.5watts the output of that panel gives you 0.125amps which is 125milliamps.

(Assuming 12v output from the panel, I'd expect it to be a little higher but even at 14v it's still 0.14amps)

So, residual draw from the ECU and BCM would have to be less than 125milliamps for this solar charger to do anything other than just supply the ECU/BCM, therefore I'd recommend against the solar chargers and go for topping up with a proper battery charger (To be honest, the cheapest of the cheap are just as good. I *hate* that modern chargers are now 'smart' and will decide if they're going to top up your battery or not depending on it's voltage and some simple calculations on current/draw, but that's a separate rant!).

So just get a cheapo mains battery charger from a supermarket or similar and plug it in now and again.

That said, I do recommend the buttonmod resistor for the battery, it's not a difficult mod and there are lots of howto's floating around for it so have a read up too :-)