2.8 Crd Grand Voyager Thermostat Housing

woodsy0810

Question

hi all ,,, i have my car in a local garage to replace the failed thermostat ,,,the mechanic said they have fitted the new one but the temp gauge in the car wont work as there was not a place to put the sensor ,,,,im no mechanic but surly this tells me he has brought the wrong thing  ,,,,when i questioned him he siad the one we need is 400 pound from chrysler only ,,,so he will drill a hole in the new part, thread it and put the sensor in ,,,,i have no idea but feel im being walked over due to my lack of knowledge on engines    any help would be great 

Hiya pal,

Check the other recent post on this very subject on here, sounds very similar to another regarding the sensor.

However, if you know anyone with a little mechanical ability you can get round it very easily, put a Renault 4 in the top hose, but check on here for more details and andyb2000 has done a video of his.

Edited by bignev

Hi

What model is you car ? Petrol or Diesel ?

Last Saturday I have replaced my own thermostat on 2.8 CRD and there was no sensors in it.

Looks like he bought the wrong one, went to Farr with the job, and decided to modify it.

I had tried the trick with the thermo with Renault 5, but after 400 miles if shut it self and did not let my water thrue with and temp went on the red line. So I throw it away and both proper thermostat.

Karmannsky...a CRD engine would be diesel and 2.8 at Chrysler is definitely a diesel

The coolant thermostat at 2.5 and 2.8 CRD models (might be on others too) is bellow the spark plugs in the middle of the engine block... The thermostat is mechanically energised by the water's temperature, no wires to it.

Go back to them with this information and tel them to find another job as they suck at replacing parts, not even taking about being mechanics...

Hope it helps.

Edited by mikebh8